Edge Jointing on a Router Table

Considering that I have a router table, I wanted to learn the best way to edge joint on it.  I probably won’t by purchasing a jointer for a long time so if the router table does a descent enough job then I won’t feel too bad about waiting to buy one.

Here is a great video I found that explains how to set up your router to joint some edges!

http://www.5min.com/Video/How-to-Use-the-Router-Table-As-a-Jointer-302212484

I’ll probably test this out on my next couple of days off on some scrap wood I have lying around my garage.  It seems, based on the video that having a straight bit with a bearing is the easiest way to line up your fence so I’ll have to see how it works out with a regular straight bit!

Also, here is a link to the article associated with the video: http://www.wwgoa.com/articles/one-great-tip/edge-joint-on-a-router-table/

2 responses to “Edge Jointing on a Router Table

  1. Good post! I don’t see myself ever having enough room for a jointer, so I’ll definitely be trying this out one day.

    • I tried to joint some scrap wood and although it was a little finicky, it seemed to work o.k. I would definitely set it up and try it on some scrap first before jointing your project wood. I have a Grizzly router table that isn’t as accurate as a Rockler or Kreg table so it needs to be “dialed” in before it works perfect…

Leave a Reply

