Tool Collecting: Building a Shop Slowly, But Surely

Like I said in my introduction, I purchased my first power tools about 7 years ago and have recently started buying tools again.  Since I cannot just go out and buy all the tools I need at once, I have needed to buy tools at a slow pace.  Besides the Skil fixed base router, Scroll Saw, and a cheap cordless drill, I did not have much.  I started researching the tools I would need and also weighed the prices and figured out what I should spend a little more money on, and tools I could buy that were a little bit cheaper.  Based on my research, here are the tools and serious woodworker should have in their shop:

  • Table Saw
  • Router Table
  • Drill Press
  • Dust Collection
  • Planer
  • Jointer
  • Bandsaw
  • Orbital Sander
  • Chisels
  • Drill+Impact Driver
  • Clamps

I am sure the list could go on, but I felt these were the tools I should focus on getting.  My first thought when buying tools is price, then how much these tools actually weigh. Weight is an issue that will come into play when I have to move and I do not want to go over my weight allowance!

My current collection of tools are as follows:

  • Craftsman Circular Saw
  • Craftsman Orbital Sander
  • Bosch Fixed Base Router w/ Interchangeable Plunge Base
  • Grizzly Router Table
  • Shop Vac
  • Skil Scroll Saw
  • Cheap Cordless Drill (Not Adequate)
  • Skil Fixed Base Router (Not Adequate)

The main tool I need to get next is a table saw and I am looking a two contractor saws that might do the trick.  They are about the same price, have a reasonable weight, and should provide better cuts than table top saws.  One saw was from Porter Cable which appears to be unavailable to purchase online or at Lowe’s now so that one might not be considered now.  The other saw is from Rigid and is a 10inch 13 Amp saw which has a lifetime warranty and has a cast iron core which will provide a level surface to make some nice cuts. One bonus of this saw over what I knew about the Porter Cable is that it uses very little plastic so that makes one less thing that could possibly break. Once I get a table saw I need to consider getting a replacement blade right away as well as a zero clearance insert to make better cuts and improve the safety of the saw.  I will also probably purchase a dado set and zero clearance insert at the same time so that I can do some descent joinery.  I’ll also need to invest in some 1/2″ router bits, but I will probably buy those one at a time as needed for each project I build. I will also try to get the Oneida Dust Deputy system for use in dust collection so that I can prolong the life of my shop vac.

Other tools on my radar are the Skil 10″ Drill press, but I’ll need to build a table to put it on as well as an actual drill press table to take full advantage of the tool!  Then some where down the line, probably in 2013 I will purchase a Planer.  The one I’m looking at is from Makita and is in the $500 range.  It is a bench top model and from what I here, Bench Planers work just fine.  Jointers on the other hand need to be stationary and I am looking at a Grizzly Jointer in the $380 range. That is one area where weight is an issue, so I may just be satisfied with a Planer and just buy a few hand planes and attempt to joint the sides that way. I also would really like to have a band saw.  The only saw that I could see myself getting at this point is a 10″ benchtop model from Rikon. They also sell a base for it so it will almost be like having a floor model!  I will probably attempt to get a new cordless drill and impact driver soon after getting the table saw because of all the screws that I will be using to join wood together!

So these are my plans for right now.  More dreams than actual woodworking, unfortunately… I am sure once I get a table saw I will do some actual woodworking, but in the meantime, all I can do is save some money and plan my purchases wisely so I can get the most for my money.  If you have any suggestions, I would love to hear them!  Thanks for reading and have a good one!

-Joe

13 responses to “Tool Collecting: Building a Shop Slowly, But Surely

  1. The Ridgid R4512 is a good choice. It has decent power, a nice sized cast iron surface, a fairly accurate fence, and is under $600.00. Stay away from a bench top. Bench tops can have decent power but the clearance between the front of the table and the blade is never enough. You will never be able to accurately crosscut a board wider than 5″. The table saw is the one tool that you should spend the most you can afford on. Router table and bandsaw are definitely nice to have. Chisels are a must, and a good quality set at that. Stanley’s new Sweetheart line is nice. You can get a set of 4 on Amazon for under $100.00. I sharpen with water stones. Also a good backsaw, Veritas or Lie Nielsen because you will soon want to cut dovetalis. Don’t even bother with a dovetailing jig. Cut them by hand. A smoothing or Jack plane is also a great tool. I would stick with Lie Nielsen or Veritas again. You can use you Jack plane instead of a jointer if you prefer. Last but certainly not least is clamps..

    • Yeah, I’m pretty much sold on the Rigid R4512. I read an article in the September issue of Wood Magazine and it was chosen as the Top Tool in the $500-$675 category for contractor saws. That sealed the deal for me. Apparently the stock blade in this saw is pretty descent, but I will probably upgrade after a little while. I think my first blade purchase will be a Freud Dado set then I will move on to buying other blades.

      I already have the router table, and would definitely love to get a bandsaw, but that will be another big purchase so that will have to wait.

      I’m definitely in the market for some chisels and would like to stay under $100 so I will look into getting those Stanley’s as well as some sharpening stones.

      I’ve had my eye on a Lie Nielsen progressive pitch dovetail saw. The price seemed descent and I know the company has a great reputation. I actually never considered getting a dovetail jig and was really keen on doing dovetails by hand. I see why people use them, but since I am not making a lot of furniture and am only a hobbyist, I don’t think I’ll need one anyway!

      I didn’t consider using a jack plane in lieu of a jointer, so I will definitely be considering that now. Space will be getting tight very quickly and any space I can save, as well as $, is absolutely helpful!

      I’m still debating on what brand of clamps to get. I see that they can be expensive, but I am still considering getting some Harbor Freight cheapos, then buying clamps one at a time until I have a well rounded collection for most work I will be doing.

      Thanks for all the tips! I really appreciate them!

  2. I’ve been lucky in table saws. I have a Delta contractor that was given to me that I used up until just a few months ago. The fence on it isn’t locking down correctly right now but luckily in May my boss got me the R4512 as a bonus, he had heard me talking about the fence. It’s probably not as powerful as my Delta but it certainly has power enough. If I need to I can wire it to 240v which will give it a little more pop, that’s true by the way no matter what anybody says. So far I haven’t found the need to do that.
    I use a Lie Nielsen Jack. $325.00!!! I hadn’t planned on spending that money but I went to a Lie Nielsen hand tool event and ended up buying it. I’ll admit, not only does it look great, but it’s invaluable for taking off saw marks from the edges of boards. The Home Depot sells jorgenson clamps in a decent selection of sizes for a reasonable cost. I have a half dozen in 24″ and 36″ F-styles, then bought them piece meal as needed. Chisels same thing, I have a 6 piece set of MHG that were money well spent, then a mix of Stanley, Narex, Lee Valley, and so on that I got when I needed them for a certain project. It’s tough getting all the basics isn’t it?

  3. Also, Lie Nielsen’s saw is great, it would be hard not to recommend. But Veritas offers a dovetailing and carcasse saw combo for about $125 that is really nice. They are what I use and I can’t complain.

  4. Even at $325 for that Jack plane will be less expensive than the jointer I want and it will weigh considerably less which is VERY important to me. I figure also, that I could just use a table saw to joint the edges as long as the fence was trued up properly.

    I’ll have to read into Veritas saws because I had not actually heard of them before. If they are descent quality then getting two saws for the price of one Lie Nielsen wouldn’t be too bad of a deal.

    It is very tough getting what would be considered “the basics”. There always seems to be something I have to put on the wishlist… Once I get the table saw and a few accessories I think I will actually be able to build some quality projects. There’s only so much you can do with a circular saw and a drill, lol.

    I appreciate all the tips I can get and will definitely be considering most of what you told me. It’s always good to hear that I’m not the only one who has to consider each tool purchase wisely 😉

  5. The Lie Nielsen is a really nice saw. I don’t own one but I’ve used it at a couple of classes. If you have the money I would say go for it. I have to admit it is just as nice looking as it is useful. I use the Veritas dovetail saw as well as the carcase saw. The Veritas dovetail saw, while maybe not as nice looking as the Lie Nielsen, does a fine job, no issues with it at all. The carcase saw so far has worked great but I have no frame of reference to compare it to other makers.
    I have a small Delta jointer that I paid $100.00 for at a Lowes in the closeout section. It turned out that the only problem with it was that the push blocks and instruction manual weren’t sent with the unit and it had a damaged box. I sent an email to Delta and the sent me the replacement manual and blocks. It works fine for boards 4ft and under, and that is fine with me because it’s mainly what I work with. The jack plane also works great with boards of the same size and leaves a much nicer edge. Of course you can plunk down the bucks to get a 24″ jointer if you are working with longer stock but at that price point you can also come close to buying a pro grade powered unit. I guess it all depends on how you work. Making shavings is kind of fun…
    Good luck with everything. I’ll talk to you again.

  6. The more and more I think about it, I will probably hold off on getting a power jointer until after I get out of the military. I would rather have my heavier tools be tools I cannot live without. Buying a Jack plane or a jointer plane will save on the weight and will also satisfy my desire to do woodworking with hand tools. If I ever come across a good deal, I may reconsider that, but for now, most of my weight will come from a table saw, router table, drill press, and a bandsaw. I want to keep the weight below 1000 lbs for my large tools and I think I can do it as long as I follow this tool purchasing plan.

    With all this tool talk, I am itching to cut some wood. I might have to build something using a circular saw and some glue 😉

  7. I am seriously considering the Lie Nielsen #7 jointer. I was somewhat of a semi pro musician for about 10 years and I still have a decent amount of equipment that is in excellent shape. I just sold a speaker cabinet to get my router plane and the wood for my latest project. I have a guitar that is in pristine condition that I barely use that I’m considering selling. I know the money would be enough to pay for the jointer. The only thing holding me back is that it’s such a nice guitar. At the same time, I like jointing with a hand plane and more importantly I can see myself doing a lot more glue ups in the future….

  8. Man, I have a Parker Fly and a Ibanez Acoustic as well as a descent amp that I would never consider selling. I’ve sold a keyboard and a drum kit, but I used the money for things outside of woodworking. I actually sold those things before I finally decided to pursue woodworking. I kind of wish I could go back and use that money to buy some woodworking gear… I would definitely already have my table saw and a few other tools, but unfortunately that is in the past 😦 My guitars will never leave me though, even though they could fetch me a good price… Keep the guitar man! You’ll regret it!

  9. I was just checking out EBay last night. I have an Alesis QS6.1 keyboard that is in excellent condition. Just the QCards are selling for over $100.00 ea and I have 5. The keyboard itself i selling between $200-$400 depending on the condition. I am seriously considering selling that. The only thing that has stopped me so far is that my little girl messes around with it here and there. I would rather sell it and get her a little digital. I think that will be my next move.

    • I use to have a Yamaha CS1X and I remember wanting an Alesis QS6.1, but couldn’t afford one at the time. They were really nice keyboards! I would say if you don’t have a piano in the house, I wouldn’t get rid of it if your girl is playing it. All kids should play some sort of musical instrument in my opinion. But she wouldn’t necessarily need something with as many features and that keyboard has. I know how tempting selling gear you don’t use, but keep the essentials if you can. I’ve sold my effects pedals, my rack gear, drum kit, and keyboard, but the guitars will always stay!

  10. You’re right, the QS6 is a performance keyboard. Problem is that I haven’t played in a band in 5 years. I would rather sell it and get her a half decent digital that she can learn on and use the rest towards my plane. Problem is that I want to sell it and be done with it, I’m not big into bartering but that’s what I’ve been dealing with.

    • This is an expensive hobby. Well, if you want descent tools it is! I’ve spent the last week going through my garage and different areas of the house finding stuff that I can sell on eBay and craigslist that I don’t use or is just collecting dust. I found a descent amount of things to sell and I should be able to buy a few big tools with all the stuff I could potentially sell. However, it will probably take a few months to photograph, package, weigh, and list the items as well as wait for people to buy so I don’t think their will be any tool purchases until October. Good luck with getting your plane and hopefully finding a descent keyboard for your daughter!

Leave a comment